There are a number of different pedestrian crossings that you can be asked about in the driving theory test. You will need to understand who is allowed to use the road crossings and how you know when to stop at the crossings.

1. Pelican Crossing

Pelican crossings have white zig zag lines leading up to them, and are activated when a pedestrian presses a button. These crossings will have a green, flashing amber and red lights. If you see a pedestrian who has pressed the button, you can assume that the lights will turn to red soon.

2. Toucan Crossing

Toucan crossings are the only pedestrian crossings that allow both pedestrians and cyclists to cross together (hence the name Two can cross). This type of pedestrian crossing will have regular red amber and green traffic lights.

3. Puffin Crossing

Puffin crossings can detect when people are waiting to cross. Pedestrians may cross when an image of a green walking man appears. For drivers, the red light indicates to stop, amber light indicated to get ready and green light to go.

There is no flashing amber light on a puffin crossing – a single solid amber light means get ready to stop, whilst the red and orange solid lights mean get ready to go.


4. Zebra Crossing

A zebra crossing is marked with black and white stripes. They do not have traffic lights but rather flashing yellow beacons. Drivers must stop if a pedestrian has their foot on the crossing, and you should slow down if you see pedestrians walking towards the crossing.


5. School Crossing

On a school crossing you will find a crossing patrol officer who will step onto the road and signal you when to stop and go. As a driver you are legally required to obey this and can be fined or disqualified if you do not.

Back to Theory Test Revision